Double Chocolate

chocolate sheet cake butter cream frostingIt’s Thursday, a double chocolate kind of day.  If you are from some alternate universe without taste buds and you do not like chocolate, I apologize.  Maybe we’ll have a double vanilla Tuesday or something, but today is all about the chocolate.

And the garlic.

Yup.  I said garlic.

Chocolate + Garlic = Bad Bread + Satisfied Cravings

That my friends is an algebraic equation.  And my teachers thought I couldn’t do math.  Ha!

My mother really saved the day last week when she married chocolate and garlic.  You see, the farmers at the Garlic Festival were giving me and my foo-foo-frilly table sideways looks.  They could not understand why The Fringe Shop was setting up in between family farms, but we showed them.  Thank you very much.

FringeMom found herself a fancy cake recipe that included vanilla extract (Fringe Vanilla) and garlic.  These ingredients were camouflaged in a base of chocolate which makes everything better.  Even garlic!

Now, I admit.  I had my doubts.  I wrinkled my nose at my mom’s culinary masterpiece and I doubted the powers of this confection; however, I was pleasantly surprised.  Her cake was the biggest hit of the festival.  People kept sending other people over to try her stinky cake.  I sold a lot of vanilla extract with that cake.

So today I will share her recipe for Stinky Cake and then I will share my recipe for Chocolate Sheet Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting.

Which recipe you try determines how brave you are.

Stinky Cake (aka Chocolate Pumpkin Cake with Vanilla and Garlic)

2 3/4 c. flour,  1 c. sugar,  1 1/2 c. lite brown sugar,  1/2 tsp. salt,  3 tsp. cinnamon,  1/2 tsp. nutmeg,  1 can (15oz) pumpkin,  1 clove garlic presses in garlic press,  1 c. cocoa powder,  2 sticks softened butter,  5 large eggs,  1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract,  1/2 c. sour cream,  1 tsp. baking powder,  1 tsp. baking soda

Good grief!  You can tell that is not one of my recipes.  I never use that many ingredients.

Heat oven to 325 degrees, grease and flour bundt pan.  In a bowl, combine all dry ingredients except sugars.  In another mixing bowl cream butter and sugar on medium speed until they are light and fluffy.  Add one egg at a time, beating well with each addition.  Beat in vanilla and garlic.  Slowly add dry ingredients, alternating with sour cream and pumpkin.  Beat well, scraping bottom and sides of bowl.

Or you can be like me and just dump all the ingredients (at the same time) into a bowl and mix.

On second thought, strike that from the record.  I don’t mess around with my mama.

Spoon into prepared bundt pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack and then invert on serving plate.

You can drizzle the cake with a mixture of one cup confectioner’s sugar and one teaspoon vanilla extract.

And that my friends is the Stinky Cake.

Chocolate Sheet Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Cake:

One Chocolate Cake Mix, 1 c. Milk, one stick butter softened, 3 eggs

In a mixer (or by hand if you have muscles), combine cake mix, milk, butter, and eggs.  Beat.

Butter and flour one 9×13 pan or two 8-9 inch round pans.  Evenly distribute batter into pans and bake according to the direction on the box mix.  (Generally around 20-30 minutes at 350 degrees).

Icing:

1 stick butter softened, 1 bag confectioner sugar, 1 c. smooth peanut butter, 2-3 tbs. whipping cream or milk, 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Whip butter and peanut butter in a mixer until creamy and smooth.  Slowly (on a low speed so your entire kitchen doesn’t get coated with powdered sugar) add confectioner sugar (you’ll use about 3/4 of the bag, total), vanilla extract,  and milk/whipping cream alternately.  Add one tbs. of milk/whipping cream at a time until you reach desired consistency.  For a thicker frosting, use less milk/whipping cream.

Frost your cake and pour yourself a big glass of milk.  Enjoy!

Warning:  Too much cake may cause fluffiness in hips and thighs.  The Domestic Fringe takes no responsibility for any weight gain or bad breath due to either of these recipes.

Linking to Mercy Ink’s Heart and Home.  Go visit!

10 thoughts on “Double Chocolate

  1. Missindeedy

    Again, I am wary. However, I will reserve judgement until Thy Taste Buds have delivered a judgement. I would LOVE to try your sheet cake recipe – but we can’t have PB as sweetboy has a nut allergy. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

