31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 2 – What is Faith?

rings reflected in water

What is faith?

According to Dictionary.com, it is defined as “confidence or trust in a person or thing”.

Allow me to further define “faith” in a Biblical sense.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.  ~Hebrews 11:1

Faith is believing God.

  • at all costs
  • no matter what
  • when He does not make sense
  • when everyone else thinks you are wrong
  • when God does not “seem” to be right
  • when the odds are against you
  • when the going is tough
  • when you cannot see past your pain
  • when all is lost
  • when you are on top of the world
  • when you know better
  • when fear tries to hold you back
  • when you do not want to
  • when you do not believe you can

Faith is believing God.

Some days it is:

  • letting go
  • a gift
  • a reason to get out of bed
  • hope for the future
  • the thing that keeps you sane
  • the reason you can “yes”
  • your purpose
  • the thing that drives you
  • what keeps you from giving up
  • a reason to live

Some days faith is elusive and other days, you feel as if you can hold it in your hand.

Faith draws a line in the sand and makes you choose sides.

Faith is a catalyst for change.

Faith makes everything possible.

Faith moves mountains.

And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, if ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place, and it shall be removed; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.  ~ Matthew 17:20

Can you imagine what life would be like if we just believed God?  What if we read His Word as absolute truth and lived as though God meant every single word in that book?

Nothing would be the same.

God would be real, not only in our words, but in our actions.  God would show up with miracles, because that is what He does.  Our mountains would be moved.

Faith is believing God.

blog button 31 Days of Living by Faith

Do you believe Him?

Will you?

15 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 2 – What is Faith?

  1. Pingback: Best of 2012 | the domestic fringe

  2. Pingback: 121012–George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal–Friday |

  3. Pingback: Living By Faith.. | American By Birth

  4. Missindeedy

    God IS who He says He is. And thank His goodness and mercy for that. Because without that basic truth, I couldn’t have faith IN Him. Lovin’ this 31 Days of Faith. Oh yes I am!

    Reply
  5. Amber

    These blog posts about faith is exactly what I need right now (especially since you put them in list form!) I am choosing to keep faith although I stubbornly don’t want to have it.

    Reply
  6. Mom

    Can’t wait to read tomorrow’s Faith Day! Thanks for letting us join you on this 31 day faith journey. I know God will use it for His Glory.

    Reply
  7. Shannon

    I’ve never been able to not believe in God, even in my crazy humanist, questioning, college years. Great opener! Looking forward to reading more!

    Reply
  8. Dani Joy

    Everyone has faith in something whether they want say they dont believe in anything or not. You even can put your faith in science. It may be just as “blind” faith as people say trusting in God is. Me, I put my full faith in the God of this Universe.

    Great post!

    Dani

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      There are plenty of people who believe IN God who exhibit no faith in their daily lives, so…

      We are good at splitting hairs, aren’t we?

      I think I understand what you are saying though, and I will write on “saving faith”. More to come over the next 29 days.
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
  9. Amber

    I became a widow at 24 years old, it wasn’t easy but at the same time it was ‘easier’ than I could have ever predicted. I attribute that completly to my fiath and the fact that those I surrounded myself with also had the same faith. I dont know how people do it w/o God, I just don’t.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

