31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 5 – Faith Takes Obedience

It was time to sell our house and it nearly broke my heart.  I loved our house like I haven’t loved any other home I have ever lived in.  It was part of who I am, who I would be in the future.

It may seem strange to talk about a home like it is a member of my family, but this little, broken-down old house changed us.  It was the glue that cemented our marriage together.  It taught us how to save money, work until we collapsed, and join forces to get something done.  It was so much more than insulation, nails, and sheetrock.  It was part of the foundation of our little family.

God asked my husband to become a preacher though, and my husband said yes.  That meant we were selling our house, the one we spent every single weekend working on for a year-and-a-half, and we were moving to Florida so my husband could attend Bible college.

I did not want to sell.  I cried real tears for my home.  You see, this home took blood, sweat, and tears to transform – our blood, sweat, and tears.  It was not easy to walk away and give the fruit of our labor to another family.

I still think about that house.  I would buy it back if given the opportunity.  That’s how much this crooked house meant to me.

When it was nearing time to list our home with a realtor, my husband came to me and suggested that we each take a week to pray about a listing price.  We made a pact not to tell each other the number God gave us until after the week of prayer was over.

So we prayed.

By the end of the week, God gave us the same number.

I’m not even sure what that number was, but for the sake of the story, let’s pretend it was $127,000 dollars.  We were confident this number was from God.  We were happy with the number, but more importantly, we were pleased that God spoke and we listened.

The realtor came with his clipboard and camera.  He walked room-to-room, snapping pictures and crunching numbers.  Then he showed us some comparable houses in our area.  They were selling for much more than our $127,000 dollars.  He recommended us listing the house at $149,000 dollars.  (Remember these numbers are fictional.)

Realtors are very convincing people.  They do not sell homes by chance.  They have the gift of sweet-talking gab, and I am ashamed to say that dollar signs swayed our hearts more than a word from the Lord himself, but they did.  We listed the house at the realtor’s recommended price, and people came to see it, but no offers were ever made.

Do you know the unease that comes from disobeying God?  Maybe you don’t, but I do.  We very willingly and blatantly disobeyed God.  We asked Him for His advice and then we shook it off at the prospect of financial gain.  Would He ever speak to us again?  I doubted it.  Our house was not selling, we were not doing God’s will, and we were miserable.

So one day we stopped into the realtor’s office and asked him to change the price to $127,000 dollars, because that is how God wanted us to sell the house.  He not only thought we were crazy, but I am certain he felt the pain of a smaller commission; however, we were set free.  We finally took a step of faith and decided to believe God, despite good human advice.

Our house sold.

Sometimes living by faith is as simple as obeying God, but some days obedience is not so simple.

I still miss our old junkie house, but I am confident we did the right thing in selling.  We asked God for something; He answered; we obeyed.  It was faith in action.

blog button 31 Days of Living by FaithHas God told you to do something?

Have you let good advice keep you from obedience?

I encourage you to step out on faith and obey God, even if it doesn’t make good sense.

If you’d like to read more stories about our old house, click HERE.

8 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 5 – Faith Takes Obedience

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 21 – When It’s Not All It’s Cracked-up to Be. « the domestic fringe

  2. Laura

    what a good lesson. thank you for sharing that. “if you love me you will obey my commands” is somewhere in the bible, multiple times. It’s scary how easy it is to disobey God, in the little stuff or the big stuff – and it’s funny what a hold ‘stuff’ can have on us. Thanks again – this spoke to me

    Reply
  3. Mom

    Tricia, it takes a great deal of faith to continue blogging these 31 days. The silence after reading each day speaks volumes. Many hearts will not be the same! I know God is at work. Thank you for sharing your heart with us. I am so proud of you!

    Reply
  4. Jessie @ Dream & Differ

    So many times, I have ignored what God was trying to tell me. I always think, “I won’t make that mistake again. Next time I’ll listen.” But my sinful nature rebels against faithful obedience. Taking a “leap of faith” is such an accurate idiom. It is anything but easy. Thank you for sharing your courageous example!

    Reply
  5. Missindeedy

    I refused to live in the city we are currently in. We had a drop-down, drag-out battle of the Spirit, God and I. I was insistent that we not only could not afford to move here, but that I didn’t need to be in this town. Guess what? When I finally shut my trap and agreed to go where He sent us, it was right here – and it was quick! Ah, obedience. Something I need to get better at doing quicker.

    Reply
  6. Piglet in Portugal

    We were originally moving to Cyprus. Everytime we went to buy a house of land something went wrong. In the end I said to hubby. God does not want us to move here…he is sending us a clear message. 2yrs later we moved to Portugal

    Reply

Leave a Reply

