31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 7 – A Baby Named Faith

blog button 31 Days of Living by FaithToday’s guest is Nina in Portugal.  She and her family are missionaries who hold a special place in my heart.  Not many of you probably know this, but my father is Portuguese, so we had a connection from the moment we met.  I did run into Nina in blogland…I’m not sure how that happened, but I am glad it did.
Today she shares her story of Faith, her baby Faith.
******************************************************************************************
Missionaries to Portugal
Fairly new in our faith and even newer in parenthood, we left the secular world and began our journey in the ministry.  After being married only 2.5 years and with one sweet baby girl in tow, we left our little townhome and moved to a youth camp where we were to begin our work full-time in the ministry. 
 
We had heard about “living by faith” before.  Heard the preacher preach it and the teachers’ teach it.  We’d even played around with it a little bit testing the waters, sort of.
 
But upon our move our income from my husbands job stopped and our new life, our daily walk of ‘living by faith’ began.  With no income and no insurance and after only 6 weeks in the ministry we faced our first, of many tests.
 
Our oldest daughter was only 9 months old, and I was holding a test in my hand that had not just one pink line, but two.  Our hearts dropped.  “This can’t be” we argued.  As if God was going to say, “Oh, you’re right….I meant to give that baby to someone else.”  God doesn’t make mistakes.  That baby was ours, a gift from our Lord.  But how were we going to pay for it?
 
We sought council from other more mature Christians and after time in  prayer we decided to leave the entire situation in God’s hands.  We had no other choice, but to trust Him.  Babies are expensive, but doctors and hospitals are even more so.  I doubted at times that God would do it.  I knew He could, but would he?
 
Almost immediately we began to see His hand at work.  Money began trickling in.  Oftentimes from the least expected places.  People knocked on our door with checks in their hand.  Money was put into our pockets at church, special offerings were received on our behalf.  Before I was six months along we had all the monies necessary to pay both the doctor and the hospital fees.  It was an amazing showing of His grace, protection and provision.
 
We felt led to name our baby “Trust” should it had been a boy or “Faith” for a girl…..
 
Well, Faith is almost 12 years old now and is a beautiful reminder…..a living testimony that we can trust our Lord.  That He rewards those that live by faith.
 
We’ve seen God’s hand in so many areas of our life since that first real test we faced early in our young ministry.  Three more babies followed Faith…..Liberty, Trinity and then finally Justice.   All named with significant meaning. 
Hebrews 11:6
“But without Faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarded of them that diligently seek him.”
Nina in Portugal
 
Nina Andrzejewski spends her days living by faith and dodging rain drops in northern Portugal.  Wife to Michael and Mother to the 5 coolest kids in Europe, she tries her best to do more than ‘just exist’ in a foreign culture she holds dear. Sharing the love of Jesus is #1 on each days ‘to do list’.  You can find her missionary stories at www.cbcpm.net.
11 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 7 – A Baby Named Faith

  1. Pingback: Link – A Baby Named Faith | CBC Portugal Missions

  2. Nina

    Fringe girl, thank you again for the opportunity to tell more about our amazing God. And thank you ladies for your dear comments. Where would I be without HIM?
    Blessings from Portugal,
    Nina

    Reply
  3. Christy

    Nina is my sweet Sister-In-Love! I say that because she is my sister in LOVE and not out of a sense of law. She’s married to my brother and I’ve known her since she was probably 13! Awesome post Nina! Really, I loved it and I am so enjoying these 31 Days of Faith. Thanks Fringe Girl. I look forward to reading each morning.

    Reply
  4. Mom

    I love this post. I have experienced our God work in the same way many times. The most recent is when I lost my job about 5 years . I learned what faith really was when I watched God provide for my needs through others. What a blessing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

