31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 9 – Find Your Mustard Seed

Photograph in Park with Bible Verse

Life is hard. 

Some days it is really, really hard.

We live in a sin-sickened world where things are getting worse and not better.  If you want to be depressed, just click over to CNN or better yet, check the newsfeed on your facebook account.

Bad things happen.  Sometimes they even happen to good people.

One day a friend of mine babysat my kids.  They were toddlers at the time, but my son had already picked up my sayings.  Kids act like little parrots and repeat you at the worst time possible.  Something happened and my son told my friend, “Life’s not fair.”

I guess he heard me say that a time or two thousand, but it is as true for a child as it is for us.  Life is not fair.  Not our kind of fair anyway.

The Bible says that the “rain falls on the just and the unjust.”  Just because you are a good person, a Jesus follower, a man or woman of faith, it does not exclude you from getting wet in the rain.

Why is one person with cancer healed and another dies?

Why does one person, the one who has nothing to begin with, lose the little he holds dear?

Why does it look like evil is being blessed and righteousness being punished?

I think Job asked all these questions and more.  In fact, in the book of Job, God doesn’t speak until chapter 38.

Think about that for a minute.

Job loses everything.  E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G. 

He has lousy friends who give him bad advice and a wife who tells him to curse God and die.

To be quite honest, I only know of one person who even comes close to feeling the grief Job felt.  I know a man, a pastor, who lost his entire family in a house fire, every one of his children, his wife, and every earthly possession he had.

All. Of. It.

Most of us do not have it that bad.

But Job did have it that bad.

I will not even attempt to convey how terrible Job’s life had become.  Go find a Bible and read the book of Job.  God says it better.

In all that loss, in the times of grief and pain, in the days of bad advice from friends, in the crying out, in the complaining, in the sackcloth and ashes, God is silent.

He allows the friends to speak.  He allows Job to mourn.  He listens to the complaints.

Then, and only then, does God speak.

He asks Job, as only God can do, if he knows better than the creator of the universe.

Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said, Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge…Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? ~ Job 38:1

God goes on to describe in detail His power over all the earth.

Sometimes we think God has forgotten us and our bad situation, or worse, maybe He wants to see us suffer.  Some days we think He just doesn’t care.  Every once in a while, we feel like God did this bad thing to us on purpose.

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning. ~ James 1:17

We have bad times – we suffer loss – we hurt – we mourn – we wonder why, but what do we do when it seems like our faith has failed, like faith is not enough?

We pour our heart out to the God of this universe and we wait for Him answer.  We hold on to our faith, no matter how small or shaky.  We hope and we pray.  We read His word and choose to believe the promises are true.

In the day that I cried thou answered me, and strengthened me with strength in my soul. ~ Psalm 138:3

Source: thedomesticfringe.com via Tricia on Pinterest

Remember that man, the pastor I told you about who lost everything.

I guess I am wrong in saying he lost everything.

One thing remained.  It was a little mustard seed in a small glass bottle.

And Jesus said unto them: Because of your unbelief, for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible to you. ~ Matthew 17:20

The fire took everything from him, everything except his faith.

Jesus answered and said unto him, What I do thou knowest not now; but thou shalt know hereafter.  ~ John 13:7

We may never know “why” this side of heaven, but our faith can remain strong.  God will speak.  Have no doubt about it, and when He does, you will be reminded that although life is not fair, God is still on the throne. 

He sees.  He knows.  He cares.

And the Lord turned the captivity of Job, when he prayed for his friends: also the Lord gave Job twice as much as he had before.  ~ Job 42:10

Are you in a Job size crisis today?

Let us know in the comments and I promise you, I will pray for you.  I will pray that you find your mustard seed today.

P.S. Linking to Mercy Ink’s Heart and Home. Go visit!

12 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 9 – Find Your Mustard Seed

  1. Srav.

    Please for my father. He is going through a very tough time.. on verge of loosing his reputation as an honest officer because of a corrupt officer picking up a fake case on him. My dad doesn’t know Christ or His love.. or what God can do by faith.. So he is breaking down and feeling deserted by God, without even knowing of His love for my dad.

    Let this situation draw my dad closer to our Father in heaven. And may dad see what God can do.. when you trust him. Please pray.

    Reply
    1. Sunanda

      Thats the request from my dearest friend Srav and I would like to plead you all to pray for her father. I’ve learnt of these blogs through her and I am glad I could read all these just in the right time. God is working on a miracle in our lives and with all my faith in him I can tell that very soon there will be a blog from both of us.
      Praise the LORD! Amen!

      Reply
  2. Amber

    I relate to Job often and I say that I have learned a lot about how to view God when it seems He is silent and abandoned me. I have learned to have faith and love Him no matter how hard both of those become. Because, the bottom line is that is all I can do.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 21 – When It’s Not All It’s Cracked-up to Be. « the domestic fringe

  4. Pingback: Favorite Photo Friday: Peace | On Planting Seeds…

  5. Missindeedy

    No Job crisis around here – but I pray that I will have the patience to wait for God to speak into my circumstances and the strength of faith to continue to rely on His Word and the promises in them. Love this one!

    Reply
  6. Victoria

    My mom’s losing her house. In about 29 days now, she, my sister, my stepdad, and their cat will be kicked out along with everything they own. My mom is a mess and I honestly have no idea how this will get solved. I do know that G-d is Jehovah Jireh. He will provide. But prayer would still be very very welcomed. And if somehow G-d can use this opportunity to reveal Himself to my mom, to give her a mustard seed and to bring her journey closer to Him, I would be absolutely astounded and so so blessed.
    Thank you, FringeGirl. 🙂

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Victoria, I am so sad to hear about your family’s home. I am starting to pray right now and will continue to pray that God will provide a home for them and that God will give your mom peace to endure this trial and faith to trust Him in all things.

      Thank you so much for sharing. I will be praying.
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply

Leave a Reply

