31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 16 – Faith for the Small Things

Sometimes it is easier to have faith for the big, life-altering stuff than it is for the small things.

I can trust God to provide a vehicle for my family, but hesitate to trust him for a five dollar field trip fee for my daughter.

Is it just me or do you have trouble with the ordinary, every day things of faith too?

It isn’t difficult to have faith that your two year-old will one day grow into a productive member of society who loves God and other people, but it is downright hard to have faith that those little every day corrections will help him become that man, especially when it is the twentieth correction of the day for the same thing.

The monotony of the ordinary destroys us sometimes.

It causes us to doubt and second guess everything from our calling to our very relationship with the Lord.

We will trust God with our souls for all eternity, but will we trust Him for today?

Can we trust Him to work out our schedules, soften our coworkers heart, change our neighbor’s attitude, give us a spirit of boldness, comfort our hurts, forgive us when we’ve sinned, and heal the wounds caused by poor choices?

We believe God is good enough to allow us entrance into heaven, but do we believe He is good enough to walk with us today, in the ordinary things of life?

For thou has delivered my soul from death; wilt not thou deliver my feet from falling that I may walk before God in the light of the living? ~Psalm 56:7

I have this verse written out on a piece of paper.  I keep it on my nightstand, but sometimes I fold it up and shove it deep in my pocket, so I can pull it out during the day.  Sometimes when stress and anxiety threaten to overwhelm, I need to remind myself, God has delivered my soul from death, so why wouldn’t He deliver me today so I can walk before Him in the light of the living.

Source: via Ashlee on Pinterest

Our memories are short, our hearts are fickle, and our minds are weak.

We need to remind ourselves, with God’s Word, of His goodness, faithfulness, and love.

Let’s have faith in the big things, but let’s also remember to have faith for the little things, because our lives are made up of little things.

Is there something little you need to trust Him for today?

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 16 – Faith for the Small Things

  1. Pingback: Challenge for today: Ask God to help you use what you have in order to bless others. « THE SURF REPORT

  2. Ashley

    What a great reminder. I definitely find it easier to trust God in the big things – right now that has to do with my husband’s job and where we will be living in the future. But I forget to trust him for little things like healing when I’m under the weather, or guidance in the day-by-day. Thanks for the inspiring post!

    Reply
  3. laura

    ps, did you notice the verse reference is 56:7…as in, 5,6,7…as in…In Order. God’s got you life under control and in perfect order…maybe I’m weird, but I love when I notice little things like that.

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Cool stuff. I would have never, ever realized that. I basically have an aversion to numbers. I think I was born with it, but it definitely got worse in Math class. Now I overlook as many numbers as possible. 😉

      Reply
  4. Beth Hendrickson

    I love the verse you carry with you–I will be “borrowing” that idea! I know I fall into the trap of trying to be good enough in the “little things” to be worthy of God’s grace, so you’ve given me a much needed reminder that faith covers the big AND small things!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

