31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 17 – When it Doesn’t Make Sense

Sometimes living by faith does not make good sense.

fall colors and cloudy sky on the horizon

God does not use our logic.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.  ~ Isaiah 55:8-9

Living by faith is not just about doing things that appear to be right.

It is about being still, listening for God to speak, and then obeying His voice one small step at a time. 

God doesn’t always ask us to take great leaps of faith.  Sometimes He just wants baby steps.

I have no idea “what” He wants for anyone but me, and believe me, doing my “what” is something I constantly mess up.  I only know that living by faith involves listening and obeying.  It is not perfect.  It doesn’t mean we don’t doubt, or waver, or mix everything up sometimes.  It means we are sensitive to the Spirit’s leading and we do our best to follow.

God is gracious.  I think we often forget that.

When my kids were just three and barely five years old, I felt God’s leading to go back to school to get my master’s degree.  Honestly, at the time it made zero sense for me to go back to school.  The last thing I needed was homework, and every single day, I was surrounded by toddlers.  They do not care if you have letters after your name or not.  They only care if you have goldfish crackers.

God would not listen to my excuses, and He did not want my goldfish crackers. 

So I enrolled in school.

My husband just became pastor of a tiny church in northern New England.  This was an all or nothing ministry, like either we gave 100% of us, or we would have to walk away.  The pay wasn’t great.  In fact, it wasn’t even there a lot of the time.

We had no money, lots of ministry, school payments, and we lived in the church – we shared a bathroom and kitchen with the church.

Uh-huh.  Yes. We. Did.

We also had a toilet right behind our front door.

I mean, not every minister’s wife welcomes guests through the front door and right into her bathroom.  I didn’t think of it as a bathroom, but as a ‘toiler’ – part foyer and part home of the toilet.  We couldn’t really call it a bathroom, because there was no bath; however, it had the important accommodations, a toilet and a sink.  It was simply unfortunate the front door opened almost directly into the toilet.

I suspect God was sitting on His throne looking down on my throne and chuckling.

He is gracious and He has a sense of humor too.

Taking that leap of faith does not always make good sense.

Come back for the rest of the story tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 17 – When it Doesn’t Make Sense

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 18 – When It Doesn’t Make Sense, Part 2 « the domestic fringe

Leave a Reply

