31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 27 – Bringing God Glory

blog button 31 Days of Living by FaithI was hesitant to begin writing 31 Days of Living by Faith.

It wasn’t just writing for 31 days, although I’ve never posted to this blog for 31 straight days, it was a combination of fears.

 

  1. I would have to bare my soul before an entire world of blog readers.  My stories could be misinterpreted, the point could get twisted and lost in my sea of words, people would understand how absolutely crazy I am – all these things floated in my head, and more.
  2. I would have to walk the talk.  We can all talk up an idea, philosophy, or conviction, but when you have the audacity to write about your belief for 31 days, you better be living it.
  3. I knew it was going to be a challenging month.  I understood that there was no way in this world for me to write about living by faith, without having opportunities to make it a reality today.  Living by faith is not a one time deal.  It something that grows and matures as your faith is tried and proved.
  4. I would lose a large portion of my blog readers.  Maybe this seems like no big deal to you, but I have worked pretty hard to develop a decent size readership for this little blog.  It is a dream to one day make it my full time job, something that pays me to do what I love.

So I wrestled with the idea of writing about my faith, not just about what I believe, but the actually living out of that belief.  It’s easier to talk about a truth than it is to put that truth into practice.

Talk is cheap.

For the first two weeks, it seemed like all my fears were playing out.  I had fewer hits on my blog than I had in the first months of launching The Domestic Fringe.  The few who did read were absolutely silent.

I wanted to give up.  I mean, was God even going to use these 31 days?

I hate doing things simply for the sake of doing them.  It seems pointless and a waste of time.  If I was going to write about living by faith for 31 days, I wanted God to use it in someone’s life.  I wanted there to be a point, something greater than me telling my story.

fall foliage, pumpkin, corn stalks

Finally, I decided that bringing glory to God was the point all along.  Even if no one read, even if I did not see the fruit of my writing, God was being glorified.  I was giving Him credit for all the things He’s done for me.

Bringing glory to God is more than enough.  It is our purpose in life.

Then something happened.  My stats began to go wild.

A well loved blogger read a few of my older posts and shared them.  Suddenly words that I wrote were being tweeted all over the world.

I was happy, but it still was not what I wanted.  I wanted these 31 days to mean more than the funny things I’ve written in the past.

Last week one of my posts was Freshly Pressed.  My stats went from hundreds to thousands and it was because of this post, a story I was the most hesitant to share.  I knew some would scoff at it.  It was the most personal display of faith in these 31 days.

While I did get a few ugly comments, I received so many more positive comments, stories of people struggling to live out their faith during the worst of times.  I received emails from people I did not know thanking me for writing, for encouraging them.

It is not about me feeling good about myself, or writing a good story, or receiving recognition, it is about God using me to bring glory to Himself, and helping another person in the process.

It doesn’t get any better than that.

17 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 27 – Bringing God Glory

  1. Apple Hill Cottage

    Sometimes people are silent because it’s hard to squeeze a comment into a few sentences. Especially if it is a post that touches you greatly. And I have a love/hate relationship with WordPress stats as well…

    Reply
  2. rach0503

    Thanks so much for being so open to sharing such personal thoughts and events. While at the time it may seem inconsequential to you, your words and beliefs can affect someone more than you will ever know. It seems crazy that God would work through a blog, but he most definitely does and changes lives through it.
    Thanks, and God bless,
    Rachel C.

    Reply
  3. loving31

    Thank you for stepping out on Faith, for saying and exposing what it’s really like to walk this walk. I just started blogging. (I don’t know how to do anything fancy on word press 🙂 ) But the whole purpose of my blog is to share much like you have shared the past few days…real life experiences of what it’s like to follow God. Its not always roses, but as you know God is amazing!! I found you on Freshly Pressed, read one post and clicked Follow 🙂 love what you’re doing here continue to inspire….

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      My father-in-law is doing well. He has a very long and slow road to recovery ahead. He was just moved out of ICU and into a regular room. He has a broken bone in his neck, 3 in his back, 3 broken ribs, a punctured lung, a lacerated liver, and much bruising internally and externally. He originally had problems hemorrhaging, but the bleeding has stopped. He is also able to breath on his own now and eat. So while progress is slow, he is alive and doing so much better than before. Thank you for asking and thank you for your prayers.
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
  4. Missindeedy

    I’m thrilled you are receiving the traffic you have hoped for. I am even more thrilled that God is using you so mightily. And He is!!!! (I also loved this line above, ” It’s easier to talk about a truth than it is to put that truth into practice.” Amen, sister. Amen!)

    Reply
  5. amphomma

    I want to say that I am writing for the glory of God–but I admit I have caught myself wishing for more visitors, or more comments…but then I remember that God doesn’t measure things the way we do. Maybe just one person read something and drew closer to God as a result. Maybe some were shifting uncomfortably because I was writing about Jesus again. It’s all right. I want to trust God to use this writing as he wants! And I can sense in your words that God is using your writing to grow and bless you as much as he is using it in others’ lives. Keep writing, keep being bold and faithful. You are encouraging to me!

    Reply
  6. Laura

    It’s been quite a journey – everytime I read now I get teary, lol. I’m so glad you took the step and did it. I found times that I read and didn’t comment was because I was still just mulling everything over and didn’t know what to say yet, maybe others were the same in the beginning.
    I

    Reply
  7. Beth Hendrickson

    Thank you for the reminder that we can always succeed if we work toward the goal of bringing glory to God! I, for one among many, have greatly enjoyed and been inspired by your 31 Days series.

    Reply
  8. Auntie Em

    I’m so proud of you– I didn’t try the challenge; I knew it want something I could do right now– so I’m impressed that you even attempted! And I’m glad you saw the real reason, but also got good stats and Freshly Pressed!! How cool is that?!?

    Reply
  9. Liz

    Hi There-
    I’m one of “them”, one of those who found you through Lisa-Jo’s tweets. And I have to say, the 2 posts about swimsuit shopping and skinny jeans were really, really good! I couldn’t stop laughing, as that has been my experience with those 2 clothing items as well. I just am not made for skinny jeans, no matter how hip I would love to look.
    However-I stayed and subscribed to your posts BECAUSE of the 31 days of faith challenge. And I can’t imagine how hard it has been to put yourself out there, but I so appreciate it. It is so awesome, humbling and inspiring to hear actual stories from you on what you and your family have gone through. Which, I’m pretty sure at the time didn’t feel so awesome.
    Our family is in the midst of this, probably the eye of the storm in terms of trying to live by faith, by what we feel God is telling us to do, and it is insane-it feels insane most days, like I am some sort of crazy person with a wild imagination that makes this stuff up. But I’m not. Trying to live by what I believe is God directing our paths and lives. So, just wanted to say thank you, thank you so much for sharing with us your faith stories. It makes me (I know, I’m strange) excited to know that what I can’t even imagine is right around the corner, is hidden in some challenge that I’m not sure our family can get through. Thank you for writing. And most especially, thank you for writing about your faith. We need more as brave as you.

    Reply
  10. Samantha Marie

    This is exactly how I felt as I started the 40 Days of Thankfulness challenge. Today enters the halfway mark and I must admit, I am struggling, but it has been a rewarding experience. I may try this faith challenge next! Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  11. Jessie @ Dream & Differ

    As I’ve read your posts over the past few weeks, I have continually marveled at your bravery in sharing so much of yourself. Your writing is personal, funny, and touching- and it always leaves me with something to think over and pray about. Thank you, as always, for sharing and congrats on the blog success!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

