31 Days of Living by Faith, Day29 – Free to Live by Faith

And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.  ~John 8:32

Friends, it is time for us to, as they say, face the music.  It is time to walk in truth, because that is the only way we will be free to live by faith.

mirror imagesOnce I had a skinny mirror.  That’s what I called it, because every day I would stand before this mirror and when it was hung at just the right angle, I would look ten pounds thinner.  Ok, maybe it wasn’t a whole ten pounds, but there are days when two pounds are just as good as ten pounds.  You ever have one of those days?

I loved this mirror.  If my house burned down in the middle of the night, I was grabbing my kid with one hand and the mirror with other.  It showed me what I wanted to see.  I didn’t care if it wasn’t reality.  I liked how I looked.  It made me feel better.

Everyone else saw the real me, the two to ten pounds heavier me.  I am the only one my fun house mirror fooled, but it made me comfortable, and gosh-darnit, I like to feel good about myself.

Sometimes that is how we live our lives.

We think we are showing God, our neighbors, friends, and family who we are, but all we are giving them is the fun-house mirror image.  We do not care about living in truth.  We have been living the lie for so long, we hardly know what truth is anymore.

Sometimes we pretend we are perfect.  We have a perfect little home, a perfect little marriage, two point five perfect little children, and one perfect little puppy.  Ok, maybe the puppy isn’t perfect, but everything else is just dandy!

On Sunday mornings we put on our best smile and spit-shine the kids.  Some Sundays we can even convince our husband to dress nice.  We file into our seats looking like a billboard for First Best Baptist Church (insert any denomination).  After the service is over, we file out the door, shake the minister’s hand, and thank him for a good sermon.

We aren’t touched by the sermon, and we sure as heck won’t allow God to speak to us and move us.  I mean, someone may discover we are not walking the talk.

Maybe we’re even hiding a double life – you know the Monday through Saturday life.

One of the scariest things about writing this series, 31 Days of Living by Faith, is that you’ll walk away thinking I am better than you, more spiritual than you, or that I am just “preaching” at you.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  I can only write these things, because I know they are true.  I live them.

It is one thing for us to fool everyone around us into thinking we are all set, but we also attempt to fool God.

It is time for us to quit living a lie.  We can only be free to live a life of faith if we start looking in the mirror and seeing what is really there, not the polished up, slimmed down version.

Let’s quit living a pretend life and begin living a life of faith.

God already knows what we look like, inside and out.  And let me let you in on a little secret, almost everyone sitting in the pews around you knows too.  Or they will know.  Eventually.  Because we can only keep up a facade for so long before it begins to crack.

Take a step of faith (maybe it is a leap), and start being honest with God, yourself, and others.  The truth will set you free – free to live by faith.

4 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day29 – Free to Live by Faith

  1. amphomma

    Thank you for letting this truth come through your words! I pray that in what I say and what I do, there will be less of me and more of Jesus. I was reminded during the sermon on Sunday that once we are rooted in Christ, we always will be. We don’t need to add anything to what he has done…what a freeing truth!

    By the way, if you are in the path of this storm as I think you might be, our family has been praying for all up there! It is sobering to watch and I pray that everyone at least considers the fact that God needs our attention as a nation. Hoping for the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

