31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 31 – Running The Race

Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us; Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.  ~ Hebrews 12:1-2

You are not alone in this life of faith.  You have a whole cheering section rooting you on.

Have you ever run a race?

I have not.  Believe me, I need a cheering section just to run around the block, but in races, friends and family come out to cheer you on.  There are people waiting to hand you a drink of water, and others holding signs.  For some, it is the crowd who pushes them to the finish.

The race gets difficult at times.

Sometimes quitting seems like a good option, but then you look around and realize you are not alone.  People you love and others you do not even know are supporting you.  They want you to finish, because they know you can.

You can do it.

The Bible says we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses in this race.  They are standing on the sidelines cheering us on.  They know we can finish the race if we will just keep running.

You have cheerleaders that look a lot like Moses, Noah, David, Paul, Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. (I had to lump all four of those last guys together, because I can’t just say one name without the others.  That’s why I named my son John and not Matthew.  If I went with Matthew, he would have three middle names.)

They are yelling, “Keep running.  You can do it.  Not much farther now.  It’s all downhill from here.  The finish line is just ahead.  Run. Run. Run!”

Fix your eyes on Jesus and run.

Living this life of faith is not always easy, but no race is ever easy.  Easy is not the point.  Finishing is the goal, so just keep running.

Say it like Dori, the fish on Nemo, says “Just keep swimming.  Just keep swimming.”

Friends, the finish line is just ahead.  Those who have gone on before are cheering you on.  Jesus is waiting for you with open arms at the end of this race.

I want Him to say well done.

So just keep running.

31 Days of Living by Faith are over, but the race goes on.  Will you run with me?

Some days I need someone to come alongside me and remind me to just keep running.  I suspect you do too, so let’s cheer each other on.  It isn’t about who has the fastest time or who gets to the finish line first.  It’s all about running well.  Some days that looks likes a slow jog and other days, it’s a sprint.

Just fix your eyes on Jesus and listen for the cheerleaders.

12 thoughts on “31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 31 – Running The Race

  1. Beck Gambill

    I love Dori’s sing-song motivation, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming!” Some days I feel like that, I’m not sure of my exact location but I just keep swimming, knowing I’m pointed in the right direction. (Visiting from Always Hallelujah)

    Reply
  2. Laurie Byrne

    “Fix your eyes on Jesus and listen for the cheerleader.” Great advice! 🙂
    I am so thankful for the people God has placed in my life that encourage me as I run this “race”….and thankful for people, such as you, who write to inspire and share His word. Thank you!

    Reply
  3. Mom

    I want to keep running the race till my life is done here on this earth. I want Jesus to put His arms around me and say “well
    done, my good and faithful servant.” I also know that even if I trip up, I can get up and keep on running because He is so gracious and loving and forgiving.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Girl, Running « whitehothair

  5. Charming's Mama

    Your series may have come to an end but living by faith takes a lifetime and without help, well I wouldn’t like to think about what it would be like without cheerleaders and let’s not forget the most important one, Jesus who has promised to be standing at the finish line, he beckons us ever forward to our forever home.

    Thanks for the 31 days, for sharing your heart and your faith.
    -Sydney

    Reply
  6. Pingback: 31 Days of Living by Faith, Day 31 – Running The Race | lovingthiswalk

  7. amphomma

    Amen! I’m in the race! Your key verse is one of the inspirations for the name of my blog! I am a runner, or at least was one in past stages of (pre-Mommy) life, so you captured racing very well! I ran a marathon with my dad when I was nearly 20, in the sleet, but we had spent so many months preparing, that we couldn’t let that challenge stop us. Likewise in our lives…each day that we pray, that we turn to God in Scripture, that we give thanks, it is like a day of preparation for “everything else” that comes our way. I want to be ready…and I want to run this race well. Thank you for posting this! I especially was encouraged by remembering “the cloud of witnesses” that surround us.

    Reply
  8. free penny press

    If it were not for my “cheering section” through the years things would have been much harder.
    Wonderful reminder to us all 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

