WIWW – Cold Weather Edition

FringeGirlToday we are talking about the weather and how it’s related to fashion.

Blame it on the forecasters, because they dared utter the word blizzard.

In my world, blizzard is a four letter word that should be reserved for places like Alaska, the North Pole, and maybe even Canada.  (Sorry all you friends just to the North.)

I got over the romance of the first snowfall about four million flakes ago.  Snow is hard work.  If you don’t believe me, come shovel my driveway some morning.

What’s worse is the snow in the house.

Yes, you heard me.

You cannot help but drag it in, and then it melts into pools of icy cold water mixed with dirt, road grime, and salt.  When you step into one of these camouflaged puddles in your socks, you think about adding more four letter words to the list of things that shouldn’t be said – shovel, snowpants, ice-scraper – they stack up right next to the word blizzard.

Jeans and boots and silver topJeans: Old Navy, Shirt: Kohl’s (years ago), Necklace: Who Knows? Boots: Dr. Martens

About this time every year, I begin to wonder why I don’t have more fleece in my closet.  I mean, it seems like the only sensible thing to do is cover yourself head-to-toe in fleece.  Most days I don’t even care if the fleece is decorated with snowmen and reindeer; I just want to be warm!

Anyone else elevate body heat higher than fashion?

crocheete hat for womenSome say you can be warm and still look cute.  It doesn’t always work that way for me.  Some days I just look like the abominable snowman, on a day when he got dressed in the dark.

(Oddly enough I am standing in front of a Palm Tree. (?) It is 33 degrees outside.  How long do they expect that potted plant to live?)

The other day my mom and I visited a cider mill.  She wore an apple.Fly Creek Cider Mill - ApplesRed looks good on her, doesn’t it?

mom at the cider millShe decided her jacket was great for October, but definitely not warm enough for a November morning.

Fleece mom.  Head-to-toe.  I really think it’s the answer to our problems.

printed jeans and bootsFringeMan thinks Kohl’s stole some thirty year-old drapes from the Waldorff Astoria Hotel in Manhattan and made a bunch of pants.

Printed Demin Fall fashion trendI’m just drawn to tacky like a two year old is drawn to trouble.  I cannot help myself.

Besides, they were only $8 on clearance.  I know, you’re shocked, right?  Never thought these gems would make it to the clearance rack.

winter fashion with layersPants: Kohl’s, Chambray Shirt: Hand-me-Down, Long Sleeved-T: Hand-me-Down, Sweater: Kohl’s (ages ago), Necklace: Gift (Target),  Headband: Gift from my Mom.  Thanks mom!

pumpkin patch photograph

So what about you?  How do you stay warm in the winter?

Do you wrap yourself in fleece and hibernate until spring?

Because, honestly, that doesn’t sound too bad to me.

Linking to Pleated Poppy’s What I Wore Wednesday and Copy Cat Closet by Ma Nouvella Mode. Go visit for some fashion inspiration.

30 thoughts on “WIWW – Cold Weather Edition

  1. Pingback: WIWW: A Mixed Bag and Pinspiration | the domestic fringe

  2. dianewbailey

    it is just beginning to become chill here in Alabama, but when cold hits I go to the Ymca in fleece and sit in the sauna, fully dressed. I have a friend who sit in there fully dressed as well.

    Reply
  3. Jeanine

    Your pants are a hit. Nothing worse than being cold. Even tho here in Texas we are having some freakishly warm weather you won’t see my arms from November till March. I don’t see how you can wear short sleeves when it is cold outside. Makes me get a chill! Brrrr……love your blog. Found you from the 31 day challenge.

    Reply
  4. jimmie lee

    I love the boots 🙂 And I am so glad to find a fashion blog post thats not from Cali and talks about cold weather {instead of complaining how hot it is, lol} I am with you, staying warm above fashion!

    Reply
  5. Missindeedy

    1) Love the new header.
    2) Love that you wore $8 clearance rack drapes and made em’ look good!
    3) I agree with you, sometimes the fleecy baggy comfy things hide what is a horrid revelation come spring. I try to mix it up. Something breath constricting on either the top or bottom half of my body. Just to, you know, keep it real. 😉

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Missindeedy, you crack me up. One day we should collaborate our efforts and write a blog post together. I agree though, constricting clothing must be limited to either the top or the bottom, but definitely not both! Heavens, no.

      Reply
  6. Cathy

    When it’s cold, at home it’s sweatpants and t-shirts and a blanket if I sit to watch TV. When going out (not for work) it’s jeans and sweatshirts (hoodies)

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Cathy, I always have a blanket nearby, always. It’s actually such a habit that I’m not sure I can sit on the couch without being curled up under a blanket.

      Reply
  7. Natalia

    I actually like those pants!! And I’m in California where it was 90 degrees yesterday. Can’t really relate on the weather front. Kinda wish I could though!! 🙂 Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  8. Nicole

    I love that silky Kohls shirt. They have such great stuff! I never make it there and when I see cute stuff like this, it makes me sad 🙂 When cool weather comes around, I love to wear sweaters, boots, and scarfs. Our temps aren’t so bad but cold enough to cover up.
    Stopping by from WIWW.

    Reply
  9. Jessie @ Dream & Differ

    You look darling! I love, love, love those funky pants! And the fact that your mom wore an apple to the cider mill. If that’s not dressing for the occasion… I don’t know what is!

    In the poker game of cold-weather fashion, I see your fleece, and I raise you a closet full of wool turtleneck sweaters! 😉 They keep the cold out like nobody’s business!

    Reply
  10. Sarah Ann

    I love that headband!! I wish we had a LITTLE more snow. Or some snow. Here in Charleston, SC, we only get down to the 50s and 60s… and we pile on the outerwear because we FREEZE in that weather 😉

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      50’s and 60’s…that’s practically summer! 😉
      My brother is in Florida and he complains it’s cold when tempt dip to 70. I understand. Sorta. 😉

      Reply
  11. Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts

    Sweatpants are my friends during this cold weather! I too share your dislike of winter for all of the same reasons.

    One thing I do like about fleece, cozy sweaters and baggy hoodies is that they allow me to live in denial that I ate too much over the holidays until spring, if you know what I mean! 🙂

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Julie, that’s the problem with sweats and fleece, they hide too much. By the time April hits, I need a crash diet and 8 hours of exercise a day. lol.

      Reply
  12. ninainportugal

    Right now, I’m in a pink hoodie with a houndstooth scarf doubled up around my neck. My toes are freezing on this frozen ceramic tile, even though I have on ‘no nonsense’ socks and tennis shoes……it’s obviously not enough…..Can you see your breath INside your home?!

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Nina,
      Nope! I’ve got my woodstove going and I am sitting right in front of it. 🙂

      My plan is to consistently feed it. All day!

      Hope you get warm. Wish you could come over for coffee and warm by the fire.
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply

Leave a Reply

