All Work and No Play Make This Mama Crazy

All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.

All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.

All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.

All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl. All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.  All work and no play make Tricia a dull girl.

If you’re a Stephen King fan, you’ll “get” it.

Some days I feel like an underpaid dishwasher.  It’s true, and I don’t need thirty comments telling me I am so much more (but, bless you for thinking that).  My dry, cracked hands tell the truth.

Dishwasher.

Sometimes the monotony gets to me.  You know?  Cleaning up after people’s messes.  Watching them make messes.  Cleaning up again.

I’m pretty much a gerbil on a wheel.

I feel a little like I need a vacation to anyplace that has palm trees and warm breezes.

After my vacation, I want to print out a deer silhouette and fill it with gold glitter, because every home needs a golden deer.

Source: justdaisydreaming.blogspot.com via Tricia on Pinterest

And then, I want to eat a giant hunk of chocolate cake.

If you Don’t unsubscribe after this post, you are with me for life.  That should scare you.

Now, if you could run away for a few days and go anywhere, where would you go?

18 thoughts on “All Work and No Play Make This Mama Crazy

  1. rootietoot

    Sometimes I just want to hear “Wow, Mom/Wife! You’re truly amazing!” instead of “there’s a sticky spot on the floor over there” tho a beach with a hammock and someone bringing me fruity drinks and someone else rubbing my feet wouldn’t go amiss.

    Reply
  2. Shannon

    I’d go to a cabin in the woods, like Thoureau. Only with wi-fi. And plumbing. And not so far as to not be able to order pizza delivery. I’d take books and Scrapbooking stuff and my coffee maker. Yup that’s where I’d go.

    Reply
  3. Charming's Mama

    It should scare you perhaps that we “stalkers” are hard to get rid of, anyhoo thanks for being there for us. I would take a spa day anywhere there was a reliable babysitter to take the kids for a few hours, or days even. 😉

    Reply
  4. Missindeedy

    With ya, sistah! So with ya. For life, in fact. You had me at chocolate cake. For vacation? Honestly? Anywhere without children for just 2 or 3 days, please. But that’s all. Then, I want back in to the monotony. 😉

    Reply
  5. free penny press

    Still here.. Hmm, where would I go? To the mountains of Colorado..I’ve heard it’s beautiful this time of year so yeah, Rocky Mountain High for me 🙂

    Reply
  6. Angie Vik

    I totally understand. Thanks for being real. I’m not sure that I’d want a golden deer, but I used to have a stuffed leopard head when I was in middle school. My husband made me throw it away when we got married. He said it was old and ratty. I hope you get a big piece of chocolate cake sometime this week.

    Reply
  7. amphomma

    I live in the place with palm trees and warm breezes…but I understand the desire to break out of the mold for a bit and be free of the household cycles. While you are lamenting dishes, I am berating myself for yet again choosing the wrong laundry today–my husband is out of undershirts, and I in my infinite wisdom washed the kids’ clothes! And the sheets yesterday! Argh!

    If I could go anywhere with my family, we would take the kids to see real snow and play in it. If I could go anywhere with my husband alone, I’d go to a fancy hotel for a few days and have a couples’ spa time. If it was just me all by myself…on a walk? To a coffee shop to read and sip a warm beverage? To visit friends? You’ve got me thinking now!

    Reply
    1. FringeGirl Post author

      Give me a month. I can send you a whole bunch of snow!

      Or maybe we should just swap houses for a week – you get snow and I get palm trees. Don’t worry, I’ll leave some dirty dishes in the sink so you’ll feel at home. 😉

      Reply
      1. amphomma

        House swap…interesting idea! I’ll do the dishes, I’ve got years of experience! Why do other people’s dishes, etc., seem so much more surmountable than our own?

        Reply
  8. Carey michalowski

    I would love a glitter dear, but pink glitter!
    Sparkle and antlers! What more can a VA girl ask for!

    Sand hammock cold fruit drinks and sunshine warm towels to dry off with and yummy seafood! Happy thoughts

    Reply
  9. The "ME" Project

    No shit. I am right there with you, lady. Sometimes I’m like, “whose freaking life IS this, anyway? ‘Cause this is NOT what I signed up for.” Don’t let it make you too crazy. The good parts come back around again, sooner than you think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

