Meat Pies: A People Pleasing Recipe

meat pies simple recipeHello Monday.  I have a recipe for you today.

Last week I made an experimental recipe. In my mind, it was going to be great, but reality was up for grabs.  It could go either way.

My son’s friend was over and I invited him to stay for dinner.  He was iffy on whether he wanted to stay and eat or not. I can’t say that I blame him, but he stayed.  I hoped he chose wisely.

I had two packs of ground sweet Italian sausage in the freezer and I decided on dinner in my usual way.  I opened cabinets, peaked in the freezer, and snooped around the back of the refrigerator.  I tossed a coin and decided on meat pies.

I’m not much of a meal planner.  In fact, I’m not much of a meal cooker, but since we all must eat, I must cook.

So here’s the recipe.

Pizza Dough:  I use the Pioneer Woman’s recipe.  You can find it here.  I did substitute 1 1/2 cups of bread flour for whole wheat flower.  I’m healthy like that.

Filling:  2 lbs. ground sweet Italian sausage, a couple of teaspoons of basil and oregano, salt and pepper, one large onion (chopped), a couple of cloves of garlic (chopped) olive oil, cheddar cheese (block, not shredded) pepperoni slices.

In a skillet brown the ground sausage, breaking it into small bits.  When the sausage is about half way cooked, I throw in the onion, garlic, and seasonings and finish cooking until the onions are soft and the meat is no longer pink.  If the sausage doesn’t have enough fat, sprinkle olive oil to make sure it doesn’t stick to the pan.  Now is not the time to worry about calories.

Divide dough.  My dough made 9 meat pockets.  I’m sure I could have made 10, but my first two were practice.

Roll out your little balls of dough into a square.  The dough should be thin, but without any breaks.  You need it to hold the meat.  I roll the dough on a sprinkling of semolina flour.  Semolina flour is very fine and I just like it.  You can use any flour.  You just don’t want it to stick to your surface.  After it’s filled, you need to pick it up and put it on a pan.

Fill half of the pocket with pepperoni and then place the sausage mixture on top of the pepperoni. Finish with thick slices of cheddar cheese.  Leave an edge all around the dough.  Be sure not to fill right to the edge.

Folding the dough is the tricky part.  You’ll get the hang of it after the first one or two.  Think of swaddling a baby or making a burrito.  Got that?  Think baby burritos and it will turn out perfectly.

I fold the front lip up and turn the edges in.  Then I take the top flap of the dough and fold it over.  It’s important not to have any holes or all the meat and cheese will leak out.

Then I sprinkle the dough with a little semolina flour.  I doubt it does anything, but I do it anyway.

Place the meat pies on a 9×13 pan.  I use a Pampered Chef baking stone.  LOVE those things.

Bake at 375 degrees until done.  How long you ask?  About 20 minutes.  I think you’ll be able to tell when it’s done.  You really just want the dough to cook, because everything inside is already cooked.

meat pies with pizza dipping sauce I served mine with pizza dipping sauce and everyone was happy.  I even think my son’s friend was glad he stayed.

Hope you enjoy!

Go visit Lisa Leonard for more Hello Mondays. Also linking to Mercy Ink’s Heart & Home.

3 thoughts on “Meat Pies: A People Pleasing Recipe

  1. Pingback: Hello Monday: First Snow | the domestic fringe

Leave a Reply

