Better

Tis the season to be resolute; however, I don’t want to start the New Year with a resolution.  I want to begin 2013 with a nap.

It’s that kind of a year.

Happy New Year CT

I’ve spent quite a bit of time thinking about this whole resolution business, and I decided I’m not ready to add anything new to my life.  No new early rising or mind and body shredding exercises.  I just need to stick with the things I’m already doing, but do them better.

Fluttering from one thing to another is a problem for me.  I tend to have butterfly syndrome.  In fact, I’m in pretty good company.  We’re constantly beginning something new, and while I think that’s mostly good, I don’t feel like a “new thing” is where I need to focus my energies.

I need to perfect what I am already doing.

Now here’s the problem.  I am not a perfectionist.  Come to think of it, maybe that’s why this resolution works for me.  I need a push to take things to the next step and be a little bit better version of the person God created me to be.

Here are some areas I know I can do better.

  • Finances
  • Time-management
  • Writing
  • Parenting
  • Having Fun
  • Listening for God’s voice
  • Marriage
  • Cooking

There’s nothing new in this list.  It’s the everyday stuff, but it is those little things we do every single day that end up changing our lives.  Making great big decisions is sometimes the easy part.  The difficulty comes in all the thousands of little decisions and tasks that lead us to our goal.

So in 2013, I am working on the little things, the everyday, because what I do today will determine my tomorrow.

It’s time to step up my game and do Better.

So if you see me mumbling under my breath, I am telling myself that what I do today counts for what I want to do tomorrow.

signature

P.S. The Domestic Fringe is being featured over on Fancy Little Things today.  I’d love for you stop by for a visit.  Fancy Little Things has grown into a wonderful resource for women.  See you there!

16 thoughts on “Better

  1. Pingback: Changes on The Domestic Fringe | the domestic fringe

  2. tara

    I added some goals to 2013 but only because goals make me happy…even when I don’t complete them all…makes me feel like I’m moving forward.

    LOVING your list of things that you are going to work on that you are already doing….great thoughts.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Tips for New Bloggers | the domestic fringe

  4. Pingback: Better Blogging – Getting Organized | the domestic fringe

  5. Amber

    I agree. It is absolutely the little things that make the changes. My changes oftentimes take years to complete but I never quit trying. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Barb

    Hi Tricia,

    I found your blog through Fancy Little Things and I ♥ a good laugh and they promised you would give us one. haha. Well, I think your First post of the year is a wonderful one. We are all wonderfully imperfect works in progress, but sometimes I find thats just what bonds us together. You know? Like when you show us your less than orderly front room, I’ll feel compelled to show you the inside of my “junk drawer” haha, and thats how wonderful friendships begin. I don’t think I could totally trust a person who’s home is so clean you could lick off the floors. They would have NO time for friendship because they’d always be cleaning. Now, I’m working on my life too, and I hope you’ll give me giggles when I take a coffee break and come visit you here!

    May every GOOD thing from God be yours this year!
    Barb

    Reply
  7. Fitwellmom

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. Some of the things I had on my list were: be patient with yourself, routine things are pretty amazing, pay attention…You have a great list and an excellent outlook. All the best in this New Year filled with yet to be discovered adventures!

    Reply
  8. Bridgesburning Chris King

    I am so in with better rather than new. There is a country song about I’m not as good as I want to be but I am better than I was…something like that..and I realize that is the journey we are all on. Trying to be better.

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Opportunity | the domestic fringe

  10. Christy @ My Invisible Crown

    I am right there with you. I need to do exactly the same and step my game way up! Sorry it’s been a while. I can get a little wrapped up in my own life and self involved at times. I’ll check out your guest post. Happy New Year!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

