Better Blogging – Getting Organized

blog organization templates

Better Blogging

2013 is the year of Better.  In my New Year’s Resolution post I told you about how I need to stick with the things I’m already doing, but do them better.  That includes being a better blogger.

I approach blogging like I do everything else in my life, I fly by the seat of my pants.  I am driven by whims and emotional outburst, creativity that most often strikes when I’m in the shower or falling asleep, and last minute ideas that are underdeveloped.

Unfortunately, this means that my best ideas and stories never make it to my blog.  P-L-A-N is a four letter word; therefore, I never use it.

I’ve decided a little organization may not kill me.  It might even make this a better blog.

I know, shocking revelations on The Domestic Fringe.  What will I say next?  I’m going to organize my laundry room??  Heaven forbid.

Aside from the overflowing basket of clean clothes that has been on my kitchen island for three days (Ya, I’m not making that up.), I’m taking steps to organize my life and live better.

Right now I’m working on my blog.  I downloaded a free printable blogging calendar from Elisa Pulliam and I am using it.  If you want, you can print your copy here.

organized blogger

I can’t promise I’ll be able to plan more than a week or two out, but it’s all about baby steps.  My goal is to eventually plan one month at a time.  This way I’ll know the direction I am heading and I’ll be able to work towards that goal without distraction.  At least, that’s the plan.

I know me, so if I get one to two weeks planned at a time, it will be a major accomplishment.

This is how I am blogging better in 2013.

signature

13 thoughts on “Better Blogging – Getting Organized

  1. Pingback: Tips for New Bloggers | the domestic fringe

  2. Mariah

    Hmm.. .better blogger… Not a bad idea! I love your seat-of-the-pants blog the way it is, and so if it’s going to get better, I’m in for some serious awesomeness!

    Reply
  3. jeandayfriday

    I would like to be more organized when it comes to blogging, too. It seems like once school started in the fall I became hit and miss with it. Thanks for the calendar download! 🙂

    Reply
  4. amphomma

    Great *plans*! I know planning would help me be better in many areas of life, too. I could totally resonate with your clean laundry basket on the kitchen counter. I tend to keep things in the basket long after they’ve been sorted and folded. Argh. Our kitchen counter, though, is my makeshift office–the mail-processing center, the financial hub (where I pay bills), the creative station (where I write). I’m a terrible pile-maker. I digress. I pray for your plans to help you and many of us who could fly a little less by the seats of our pants!

    Reply
  5. tckk

    I would like to be a little more organized in my blogging too. I definitely just flit from thing to thing when it comes to blogging. Oh who am I kidding, I flit from thing to thing in a lot of my life. 🙂 I printed a planner. Don’t know if I’ll use it or not. But it definitely gives me something to think about.

    Reply
  6. dyuhas62

    Now I adore planning & preparing! I’m a great organizer, but a poor follow-through. I can dream up all kinds of things, but lose interest in the execution. Thanks for the link – those printables are awesome. I loved the life planner, but I would, wouldn’t I? Here’s to carrying out our plans!

    Reply
  7. Amber

    Did I mention I stole your word for 2013? He he I did Better is the word of the year over at Life, Love, Green too!

    Humm now maybe I should steal your planning calendar…wait that isn’t stealing you are sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

