Stupid Photo Day

The other day I handed my husband the camera and said, “Stupid photo day is coming, I need a picture.”

I don’t think What I Wore Wednesday is stupid, I just think my pictures end up looking a wee bit dorky.  I even tried the whole casually look away from the camera thing, I end up looking like the hunchback searching for a dropped button.

I just can’t be subtle or causally relaxed when posing for a picture.  I don’t have the “strike a pose” gene, or jeans for that matter!

So, if I refer to Wednesdays as Stupid Photo Day, will you be offended?  Some people easily offend and I make it a habit to avoid offenses, at least I try to avoid them.

So without further ado, stupid photos.

red pants, animal print shirt and gap sweater

Do red and brown even go together?  I don’t know.  I was in a hurry and just got dressed.

Pants:  Kohl’s (same as these peach pants), Top: Gap (It’s old), Sweater:  Gap (also old), Boots: Same as I always wear.

workout clothes Saturday outfit

My only excuse for this outfit is that it was early on Saturday morning.  We went out for donuts and to the library.  I know they are workout clothes and the only working out I did was lifting the donut into my mouth, but I needed to dress quickly without any fuss.

Everything I am wearing is a hand-me-down, including the sneakers.  I purchased the jacket a few years ago from a local sporting goods store and it’s one of the most practical things I’ve bought.  It’s super lightweight, but incredibly warm.  I have no idea what it’s made out of, probably rubber and fleece fused together (or something like that).  My mommy bought me the headband when we went to the American Girl Doll event back in November.  It may not look so hot, but it’s super warm and it’s perfect for when you don’t want to wash your hair.  Just sayin’.

101_2501

Sorry about that photo.  I wasn’t expecting it to be so close-up.  My son took it.  He has no problem chopping off parts of my head either.

Both shirts: Hand me down.  Skirt: H&M (a few years old), Boots: Target (a few years old).

I love wearing skirts and dress, but not so much in the winter.  I’m always freezing and I hate being cold, so I wear pants a lot, preferably warm pants.  Besides, all my dresses and skirts are summery.  I can only make a few work in the winter.

So there you have it – Stupid Picture Day.  I guess I can’t bring myself to capture more than three outfits a week.  Seems to be my limit.

What have you been wearing lately?  And, do you have winter skirts/dresses??

P.S. My hair seems to have completely different personalities in these pictures.  It’s naturally curly, but sometimes I blow it, iron it, oil it, and wax it.  I like when it’s straight, but it’s a big job, and if there’s even a hint of moisture in the air, it’s like I’m wearing a Chia Pet on my head.  My daughter likes to tell me my hair is growing, and she doesn’t mean longer.  She most certainly means bigger.

signature

16 thoughts on “Stupid Photo Day

  1. Pingback: Bright Colors & Scarves | the domestic fringe

  2. Cheryl

    I love the last look! Don´t worry, all the days where I had my photos taken are always stupid photo days. My photographer aka as the hubby likes candid shots which means he always shoots my photos in-between poses which always turned out as bloopers!

    Reply
  3. Sarah Hulbert Style

    Hahaha! I had to laugh at the “growing hair” remark, because I can so relate. If I so much as walk past a pot of boiling water, I end up looking like an Egyptian pyramid. As for your hair, I really like it curly! Have a great week!!! ~Sarah

    Reply
  4. Jill

    I like red and brown together. And I’ve got to say, I’ve seen a lot of your Wednesday photo pictures, but never took the time to stop and comment. (I know; bad blogger!) At any rate, I think just about all of your pictures look great. I truly wish I could look that good just throwing something on to go get a donut. Even a headband or hat would not help me as my hair also has a tendency to grow (bigger!).

    Reply
  5. Ashley

    I think the red and brown together looks great! I ALWAYS feel silly taking outfit photos. And I do them outside so I’m always terrified I am going to get in trouble or something like that 🙂

    Reply
  6. Missindeedy

    Psst… a little winter warmth secret for the long skirts with boots: I wear leggings underneath. Because I can. And my legs thank me. 😉 I love the last outfit with the skirt and denim. HA to lifting the donut. That’s my kind of *effort*.

    Reply
  7. Fitwellmom

    I love the hair band (I think that’s what it’s called) in your outside photo-it’s really cute. I also love that you where colour (said the girl who where way too much black and gray) 🙂

    Reply
  8. Lisa C. @ Ginkgo Street

    You are so funny! Totally agree with the taking photo things. My husband doesn’t really get it but will take them because I ask him to… i usually come out looking pretty dorky too or I look at picture and I am mortified and go change right away! Oh well! Enjoy the week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

