Hello Monday, Hello Family Time

Hello Monday

I like you a lot today, mostly because it’s a “day off” (translate laundry day) and I slept until 10:30 am.  I suppose I should be ashamed to admit that on the internet, but I never claimed to be a morning person.  A snowy holiday morning sounds like the perfect time to sleep in.

Worry not.  My children are fully capable of microwaving a bowl of oatmeal.  Besides, they slept nearly as late as I did.

So on this Monday, I am joining Lisa Leonard in saying Hello!

Hello Kid Cart

My kids are junkers at heart, especially the boy child.

Kid in shopping cart

Yesterday afternoon he came home pushing a shopping cart.  He says it was in a ditch on the side of the road and the store hasn’t been in business in our town for about three years.  There is no other Family Dollar within twenty miles, so he figured this was trash.

Now he’s the boy in a buggy.

On a side note, I know you are jealous of his vintage linoleum.

NOT.

Hello Game Day

On the weekend, I end up playing games with my kids.  Usually game time happens late Saturday afternoon into the evening, but yesterday all our usual evening activities were cancelled due to wicked winds and snow.

For a few moments I thought the wind may or may not take off our roof and possibly the second floor of our house.  It was just that windy.  I know exactly how the little piggies felt when that big bad wolf was huffing and puffing.

monopoly dice - Game Day

My kids are big Monopoly fans.  I suspect it may be my fault, because I carried the Monopoly bug over from childhood.

penguine hat  Monopoly

Last night we played Wii games.  First I played Nintendo 64 games with my son, but we quickly decided I was game controller challenged and after I crashed my Star Wars jet fighter airplane into a hundred boulders, we thought we’d give bowling a try.  It’s more my speed.

I’ve never been good a good gamer.

Are you a super-cool gaming mama?  I need lessons.

Wii Bowling

Clearly I need bowling lessons too, but I was just warming up.  Although I have no real proof, the next game was strike, strike, strike, strike, gutter ball.

I kept reminding my kids that when I was young, I won a trophy for highest girls series at a bowling tournament.

Yes, I have long history of dorkyness.  This is nothing new.

Hello Blog Design

If you’re reading via email or Google reader, you may not have noticed my new header.  I am, unfortunately, given to whims and I change my header a lot, but only because I am attempting to find one good design that I can keep for more than a month.

After a series of Tweets late the other night, I realized my font and design stunk.  I’m no blog designer, but there are Youtube tutorials on just about anything you want to learn.

When I think about blog design, I think of certain words – clean, creative, welcoming, professional, readable, attractive, happy, etc.

I don’t know if this design allows me to check any of those words off my list, but I know the font is better than before.

Blog design is a lot like my life.  Each little step takes me closer to my goal.  I know I won’t get it right or arrive at my destination by tomorrow, but I will be one step closer to that goal.

It’s all in the experience.

So, honestly, what do you think?

And no worries, I have thick skin.

~FringeGirl

8 thoughts on “Hello Monday, Hello Family Time

  1. Jessie @ Dream and Differ

    I love the new design! I just commented on your Facebook post again, but I hadn’t seen this change yet. It looks great! Awesome job. And that picture of your son in a shopping cart… save that one for his graduation/wedding day slide show. Too funny!

    Reply
  2. Shannon

    I like your banner! Very fresh looking.
    We got a Wii for christmas and I’ve really been enjoying the sports games especially the boxing. But my arms get so sore!

    Reply
  3. Sue, a Florida Farm Girl

    Eh…so, so. I really like at least one pop of color in a heading but not so much that its overwhelming. And the Reply location. Had to do some looking to find it up at the top.

    But, hey, its your blog so you can do pretty much what you want with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

