Devil’s Surprise

Hello Confetti

My mother is on a mission to get even with me for some contrived childhood offenses, at least that is the only reasonable explanation for filling my son’s birthday card with a pound and a half of confetti.

birthday balloon confetti

At first I thought these little balloons were cute, but two days later, they are the devil’s surprise.

The balloons migrated into every corner of the house.  I stepped into the shower and balloons   were there.  I walked into the laundry room and balloons were there.  I sat on the couch and balloons were there.  I served dinner in the dining room and balloons were there.  You get the point – balloons are everywhere!

FringeMan came home the other night and plopped into his “man chair” (he doesn’t have a whole cave) and said, “Everywhere I look I see sparkles.”

Birthday confetti

The other thing you see is wood chips.  Please, don’t even get me started on those.  They may be worse than confetti.

Hello Girl’s Day

FringeKid and I had most of Saturday to ourselves, so we declared it a Girl’s Day and decided to get our craft on.

I told you about my big ideas for celebrating the holidays and making more of decorating (yadda, yadda, yadda), but my budget didn’t line up with my plans, so we scrounged the house for supplies that could be contrived as worthy of a holiday that is hearts and flower and candy.

kitchen table turned craft table

Turns out our imaginations may be more suited to spring, but I figure we can reuse the decorations for Easter if we must.

You’ll have to wait to see our creations.  Sorry about that.

Hello Chocolate Dipped Pretzels

Winter has its’ hazards.  Creative snacking is one of them.  FringeKid found a box of melting chocolate and well, the rest is history.

chocolate dipped pretzels in a pan

There’s something about salty and sweet that creates the perfect mix of pleasure food.

Sunday I listened to a sermon that left me with this thought.

Heaven is going to be a grand calorie-free buffet. 

I’m not sure if that’s Bible or an older preacher longing for a better dinner, but it’s a nice thought just the same.

Hello Singing and Dancing

FringeKid cranked up the music and grabbed a microphone.  We had a regular party going on.

singing in broom microphone

And if white men can’t jump, white chicks can’t dance, at least this white chick, but we gave quite the performance anyway.  Life is too short not to let your crazy out and have a little fun.  You can quote me on that.

Hello Redneck Gourmet

He was back for a repeat performance, only I like this dish a whole lot better than the canned sausages.

vanilla cake with chocolate icing

My kids say I over-instruct when they are cooking, so I did not even set one little toe into the kitchen.  They managed to bake a wonderfully moist cake.  I suspect it was all the olive they used.  In the words of my mother, “That’s one expensive cake.”

And now it’s your turn.  What are you saying Hello to today?

I’m joining Lisa Leonard and many others in saying Hello to Monday.

~FringeGirl

10 thoughts on “Devil’s Surprise

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Lover’s Cake in A Mug | the domestic fringe

  2. Carolyn

    Oh thank you- you brightened my whole day – i am going to quite you “Life is too short not to let your crazy out and have a little fun”- I think that I have forgotten this lately.

    Have a lovely day ,
    C

    I also had forgotten about just how far those confetti shapes go!!!
    & I know I’m going to try the next olive cake I see 🙂

    Reply
  3. Coming East

    Loved your stream-of-consciousness post, DF. Except for the quote about heaven, that is. I want the quote to be that heaven is going to be a grand buffet where we don’t have to watch the calories because hey! we’re dead anyway so who cares? LOL

    Reply
  4. Missy

    Confetti – it’s like glitter, only bigger. Ugh! I’m all for any kind of cake that I didn’t have to make. 🙂 And yes please to the chocolate covered pretzels. Salty and sweet is The Best combination ever!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

